//
you're reading...
Family, Free Food at Home, Gluten-Free, Love, Uncategorized

My first attempt at baking a non-existent cake

Let them eat cake. – Marie Antoinette

I love baking chocolate cake and felt I definitely had to bake one for my ma on Mother’s Day but I recently gave up eating all most food containing gluten, wheat or yeast. I decided this would be a lot easier than continuing to live with my constant lack of energy, debilitating headaches, severe eczema and painful stomach cramps. My doctor was right – my body was being poisoned; after only three weeks I feel GREAT!

I found a great recipe for a gluten-free chocolate cake but as I did not have much time this weekend (only three weeks until the exam!) I decided to get a ready-mix from my local Dischem. I will bake the cake from scratch on another day and let you know how it goes.

It was very easy, all you have to do is add the contents of the pack to 165ml water, two eggs and 60g margarine and beat it for 4 minutes on high with an electric-mixer. The vegan option is to use 300ml of water and leave out the eggs.

I had the cake in the oven for 25 minutes and it was quite dry even though the instructions say it should be in for 30-35 minutes and it was so thin! I am used to baking cakes big enough for people to jump out of 🙂

I made a delicious icing though, no recipe here I mix together a lot of butter, icing sugar and cocoa until it tastes great. There is never the fear of making too much – my sister and I just eat what is leftover from the bowl!

After having cake and tea for breakfast we went shopping at China Mall. What more could a girl ask for?

We hope you had a very special day! We love you x

Does anyone have some gluten-free baking recipes they would like to share with me?

Click on images to view larger versions.
Discussion

3 thoughts on “My first attempt at baking a non-existent cake

  1. I think it was quite successful considering! What a lovely Mothers Day it was 🙂

    Posted by mishanel | May 19, 2012, 8:11 PM
  2. Priceless memory

    Posted by Elvira Nel | June 26, 2012, 7:33 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The miracle grain and a 2013 mindset change | femmegypsy - January 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,084 other followers

Archives

Categories

For my sporadic commentary

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

