//
you're reading...
Boyfriend, Love, Purpose, Uncategorized, Why I Blog

A thankful love letter

Memory is the diary we all carry with us – Oscar Wilde

Dear Wesleigh

Today it has been four years since we started dating. As I recently started this blog as a way to document my life for one day when I am old and grey and wish to have a vivid recollection of the people and places that played a special part in my life, I felt I had to document the years of our relationship that have passed.

In order to do this I have decided to write a love letter of sort. A love letter is a romantic way of expressing ones feelings of love in a written form and is probably as old as civilisation itself. Love letters were a necessity during the days when couples would be separated for months and sometimes years on end by wars and had no form of instant communication. Although I have always had a slight obsession with the act of writing letters and would love to receive a hand-written one in the mail someday I am so grateful that we are able to speak on a daily (and sometimes even hourly) basis.

Some love letters are presented in the form of sonnets and poems and to this effect you presented me with one before, via sms I received the following from you in 2009:

1 Corinthians 13: 4-7

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, nor self-seeking. It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes and always perseveres.

I have never forgotten these beautiful words and never will.

Love letters can be delivered by hand, mail, carrier pigeon, email or in this case in the form of a blog post.

We have shared some of the most incredible times together and achieved so much through our mutual support of each other’s passions and ambitions in life. Thank you for, as (other) Tam once put it, “worshipping the ground that I walk on.”

Thank you for being the person that is able to bring me back down to Earth when my crazy mind becomes so entangled in complicated thought processes that not even I understand why I am suddenly angry, sad, upset or excited. Somehow you always seem to help me realise the essence of a matter.

One of the most important things that I would like to thank you for is the way you cared for me when I was so sick during my second year at varsity. The tenderness and compassion you showed during this time is something that I will never forget. You used to look at me with those big blue eyes and tell me that I was the most beautiful, energetic and strong girl you had ever known. At a time in my life when every fibre of my being seemed to be fighting against this you had the ability to make me believe.The yearning in your eyes for me to start seeing myself as you did was so passionate and overwhelming. Thank you.

I am so proud of the man I have watched you become. The changes you have made for me in your life and the fact that you are so dedicated and passionate about the work that you do is inspiring. You have told me before that everything you do is for me and I know this, I really do.

I know things are not always perfect but I think through all the trials, tribulations and triumphs that we have been through we have grown together as a couple and I look forward to many more memories being created. We have recently embarked on mountain biking adventures and I am looking forward to travelling through some beautiful places both in SA and abroad.

As you can imagine during our four years of dating we have a few thousand photographs of us together but I tried finding a few of only us and have inserted them below. Going through four years of pics was an amazing trip down memory lane for me and I hope going through these select few is just as special for you.

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

Happy Anniversary!

I love you xxx

Click on images to view larger versions.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A thankful love letter

  1. Happy Anniversary My Baba!!

    Thank you for the incredible love letter, I didn’t expect something so special. Thank you for all the effort you have put in over the years and all the support you have given me, It truly has made me who I am today. Such awesome photos, must have been difficult to select those few…looking forward to all the amazing pics to still come.

    Love you and miss you my beautiful girl!! mwa

    See you later

    Posted by Wesleigh Louw | July 19, 2012, 9:16 AM
  2. Where there is love not much more needed. We experience everything as a treasured memory.
    Well done you two xxx

    Posted by Elvira Nel | August 29, 2012, 1:22 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Detoxification « femmegypsy - February 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,084 other followers

Archives

Categories

For my sporadic commentary

