//
you're reading...
Faith, Musing Monthly Matters, Purpose, Uncategorized, Why I Blog

Musing Monthly Matters: July 2012

Leaders of newspaper groups need a head, a heart, nerves of steel and testicular equipment of even harder stuff. – Peter Sullivan

Some links, observations, thoughts and questions towards the end of each month that I have come across during all my time spent researching online. Sometimes I just do not have enough time to write full posts on everything although I wish I could 🙂

I hope they provide you with some entertainment and something to mull over or laugh at during that last week of the month when the bank balance has dwindled and you cannot go out for dinner, drinks and dancing!

Random facts I found on the Tiger Brands website

  • Chocolate’s scientific name, Theobroma Cacao means  “Food of the Gods”.
  • Stains caused by chocolate are the hardest to remove. The best solution is detergent and water.
  • Peanuts are not actually nuts at all! They are legumes, like beans, peas and lentils.
  • Arachibutyrophobia (I-RA-KEE-BU-TI-RO-PHO-BI-A) is the fear of getting peanut butter stuck to the roof of your mouth.
  • You can buy a 20kg (!) Mayonnaise – how disgusting?
  • 101 Uses for Spray and Cook can be found here and here. There really are some great tips!

Brilliant points for any investor to read, print out and stick to your desk or wall for a constant reminder! – 100 Things I’ve Learned in Investments

This frightens me. The fact that someone sat down and wrote down steps with diagrams on how to make a good cup of tea is honestly scary. It is not that difficult? Or is it?

Do you fall into the “busy” trap? I wrote in my last post that I pride myself in being a “balanced” (read:busy) person but is this just because  “busyness serves as a kind of existential reassurance, a hedge against emptiness; obviously your life cannot possibly be silly or trivial or meaningless if you are so busy, completely booked, in demand every hour of the day.” Let me know what you think of the article and whether you consider yourself on the side of “indolence” or “frenetic hustle”.

Is MSG is so bad for you, why doesn’t everyone in Asia have a headache?

Have a look at some of the hottest new bars around the world – one is in our very own Cape Town 🙂

I never even thought about the fact that there must be on record somewhere the first photo ever uploaded to the internet. Quite a random one.

A graphic depicting the massive price increases experienced over the past decade; inflation is most definitely a powerful force!

These need no further explanation, ladies and gentleman I present to you a panty shaped like a vagina!

Lucy Kellaway, one of my favourite columnists for the Business Day, creates an  “award to be given to a CEO for Outstanding Services to Bunkum. The winner must be a big business name who is equally adept at using guff for exaggeration, euphemism and obfuscation, and for conveying fake emotion. Above all, they must never use a simple word when a longer one will do.” This is brilliant as I read numerous financial reports and management statements and commentary and can attest to this weird inclination.

100 Mind-Blowing Facts About the Economy

The 24 Most Ridiculous Wikipedia Picture Captions – The ones that made me snort with laughter were numbers 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 16, 22.

...

Quite possibly the funniest YouTube video I have ever seen! Do yourselves a favour and watch it.

Another one that comes a close second – is there any sound in the world more magical than a baby’s laughter?

A brilliant article on the state of SA’s media by Peter Sullivan, former editor of The Star and group editor-in-chief of Independent Newspapers South Africa. He was also chairperson of Print Media South Africa’s Awards Committee for many years.

One day I will have my own offices to design and make unique, inspirational, relaxing, creative and most definitely not boring! View some interesting office spaces around the world.

Tweets from the month:

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,084 other followers

Archives

Categories

For my sporadic commentary

