//
you're reading...
Boyfriend, Exercise, Faith, Holistic Health, Love, Mind, Mountain-biking, My Thoughts & Opinions, Travel: South Africa, Uncategorized

A cycle trilogy

A trilogy is a set of three works of art that are connected, and that can be seen either as a single work or as three individual works. – Definition

We have mostly been training and cycling at Northern Farm and we love it here!

We started in the midst of winter, exploring the beautiful dry lands.

Emerging from the veld fires as a Phoenix does,

we were privileged to see the farm transform to green and lush beauty of a different kind.

It has been incredible to watch this change in season and witness the growth of not only the plants but the animal life too.

I have been thinking a lot about life and all its nuances lately.

I have explored this inner tension concerning being at peace with where I am now and striving for something better.

I have dubbed it the ‘October Blues’ because I recall feeling exactly this way last year and mentioning to my friends that every year this time I go through a melancholy period of inner reflection and pondering what gives Life to life.

Of course I want to push myself to be the best I can be but on the other hand I do not want to burn myself out by constantly striving to reach my “true potential” when I do not even know what that means.

Of course ambition is important but it is also important to be content with the present moment. Sometimes Life will simply present itself to you in all Its beauty, without asking for anything in return from you.

 At any single point in your life there will be parts of it that are changing and moving forward where other parts of your life just need to “be” or in some circumstances parts of your life that need to be left behind and not worked on; just laid to rest.

We are all busy people and we cannot be executing everything with perfection in our lives at all times. Prioritise what needs to be pursued and allotted time as well as effort.

On the other hand consider what areas just need some contemplating and thinking time.

Sometimes reading, researching and re-assessing your life can be as productive as pro actively working on a goal or project.

Most of us fear inner conflict as it presents an uncomfortable and stressful situation without clear direction.

The existence of this conflict should rather be viewed as a forced way to effectively deal with it and move forward.

Conflict is inevitable and challenges us to live up to our capabilities.

Always surround yourself by smiling and loving people – guiding and motivating you through. Reminding you of these capabilities. Reminding you that no, you did not almost lose your life in the fire, you got through. You will always get through.

Just take note of signs in your life that will point you in the right direction. Follow them; follow your head as well as your heart. Pay attention, these signs will sometimes be subtle, other times not.

Just like Autumn-Winter-Spring-Summer, so your life will experience seasonality and this too is a natural phenomenon.

We need to face these twists and turns in our lives head on: with momentum and dedication to overcome them.

With focus, any hurdle can be overcome.

The manifestation of overcoming fear will be relief and a sense of vitality.

One area of our lives that we have been working on to reach a goal whilst enjoying it throughout has been cycling.

I have written about my fears during mountain biking and cycling at Northern Farm has been great in the sense that we have been able to track our progression in this sport –our cycling season if you will.

Our first cycle there we were wrecked after completing the 20km route.

Since, and over the past few months, we slowly but purposefully worked on improving strength, speed and style.

I still have a mind block and am anxious down and back up steep hills, over roots and my depth perception is lacking.

But I am improving, and it is an awesome accomplishment for me!

We are covering longer distances and greater obstacles, not only whilst on our bikes.

We can bear testimony to so many beautiful sights, sights that we have marveled at together.

I guess what I am trying to say is

don’t try to find the balance between thinking and doing – cycle between the two!

I leave you with a verse from The Bible which beautifully ties up my thoughts.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 (NIV)

To everything there is a season, and
a time to every purpose under heaven:

A time to be born, and
a time to die;

a time to plant, and
a time to pluck up
that which is planted;

A time to kill, and
a time to heal;
a time to break down, and
a time to build up;

A time to weep, and
a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and
a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and
a time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and
a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and
a time to lose;
a time to keep, and
a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and
a time to sew;
a time to keep silence, and
a time to speak;

A time to love, and
a time to hate;
a time of war; and
a time of peace.

I started this post towards the end of the first week of the month and have struggled to write it throughout. I am relieved that I have worked through my ‘October Blues’ and the tone of the post has experienced a transformation of its own; from depressed and dreary to reflective and positive, or at least I hope so?

I plan on exuding only positive energy during November (my birthday month!) and the rest of the year. I hope you all do too. All the time keeping in mind that, “To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven”.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “A cycle trilogy

  1. Very nice post my Monkey!! Must have been so hard to choose the pics that you wanted to put in. Your cycling is improving so much and I’m so luckly to be experiencing all of this with you.

    Love you so much!!

    MWA

    Posted by Wesleigh Louw | October 31, 2012, 4:33 PM
  2. You write so beautifully my Tam! xx

    Posted by pookster26 | October 31, 2012, 4:46 PM
  3. I received a comment on this post via bbm from a family friend in France which I thought I should share here as a few great points were raised. Especially, – Anything more becomes tiring to sustain. – I appreciate each and every comment and we can all learn from one another’s thoughts, ideas and beliefs.
    “Hi Tam, I really enjoyed reading your post. One’s true potential is reached, I believe when one is innerly centred and comfortable in one’s own skin. One can only give externally what one has internally. Anything more becomes tiring to sustain. Being oneself, and becoming oneself more and more on life’s journey, is key to reach one’s full potential. First internally, it will show externally, be visible, I mean. Surrounding one with happy smiles. One should. It could be referred to as ones inner circle. Be very selective who one brings into ones inner circle. Ones words, typed or spoken, is a reflection of ones thoughts. “So watch your thoughts, because your thoughts become your words. And watch your words, because your words become your actions. And watch your actions because your actions become your habits. And watch your habits because your habits reflect your character”, said Margaret Thatcher. And ones thoughts reflect ones innermost being, ones nature, say I. “And a time for every purpose under heaven”, in that same context you’ve been created, purposely customised by God with a character and a nature, you’re unique too, nobody else has what you have, which gives you the platform from which to grow and reach out, from your inner being, to become the full person as you were created to be, on your journey through this life. Enjoy it, and thanks for sharing. Take good care of yourself.”

    Posted by femmegypsy | October 31, 2012, 5:05 PM
  4. Wow baie nice nig!! 🙂 baie inspirational….en ja ek dink ons almal gaan deur die ” blues”! Sien uit vir die volgende ene!

    Posted by Vicky | November 1, 2012, 8:35 AM
  5. Reading and learning helps us grow and become content with what we have now and how we react to things good or bad. We determine in our minds HOW things affect us.

    Posted by Elvira Nel | November 1, 2012, 10:30 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The food of champions | femmegypsy - December 21, 2012

  2. Pingback: The miracle grain and a 2013 mindset change | femmegypsy - January 9, 2013

  3. Pingback: The food of champions « femmegypsy - February 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,084 other followers

Archives

Categories

For my sporadic commentary

  • Love this idea of stashing your spare cash (by rounding up spend to the nearest R10 and investing the rest). stash.co.za 14 hours ago
  • Just as grateful for tea on my couch at home this morning as I was for a café in this beautiful nook of Éze. https://t.co/MESNASYPOg 1 day ago
  • 2036 emails to work through today. 😳 Thank goodness it's going to be a quiet day in the office. 1 day ago
  • Hi @FitKeySA, I've gone to 2x classes (5 & 6am) at different studios that were closed. Pls update. It's too ❄️to get up & ready for nothing. 1 day ago
  • RT @_justcallmekidd: My step dad told me it was pointless to go to orientation, I wasn't going to graduate.....4 years later he in jail & I… 1 week ago
