//
you're reading...
Free Food Out, Gluten-Free, Love, Travel: South Africa, Uncategorized

A healthy indulgence? Nope, but I can try

A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap. – Mitch Hedberg

Today has been a rainy and cold day in Jhb and as such I have been craving anything and everything that is sweet and satisfying. If only I could quickly teleport the +-700km to Ramsgate (Geography has never been my strong point) to the The Waffle House! If only.

Wes could not believe that I had never been to the Waffle House on our first trip to Ballito together in 2008 but unfortunately we did not make it there on this particular holiday. We did, however, make up for this in 2010, (twice) in 2011 and 2012. From Ballito it is a bit of a drive (over two hours but definitely worth it, especially if you stay for the day and chill on the beach there). From Margate it is less than fifteen minutes.

There is always a very long queue, be ready to wait for an hour or so, especially during December.

Needless to say we were all very excited to go back to the Waffle House this past December but I no longer eat gluten.

“It’s fiiine I said, you guys can all have waffles, I’ll just have some ice-cream in a bowl or something.” I tried to sound completely chilled but no I definitely also wanted a waffle!

So Wes’s dad, obviously hearing the traces of longing in my voice, phoned the Waffle House to check if they do gluten-free waffles and they seemed pretty offended on the phone, “Of course! we do gluten-free, egg free, dairy free, anything free that you want!”

Besides the waffle, that is not free.

Order the Banana Waffle, either with half ice-cream half cream, or only ice-cream. Always with chocolate sauce on the side. The best! Also, very filling. Besides, the banana makes it a healthy waffle 😉

The Waffle House has been around since 1957 and I know it will be around still for many many more years! I love that it caters for all kinds of allergies. They have a great website which details their historywhat is a wafflehas a mouth-watering gallerya contact page with everything you need to know about how to get there opening times etc and most importantly the menu so that you can spend the entire year planning your next indulgence.

All I have left in my lunchbox from work today is a banana. No Waffle. No ice-cream. No chocolate sauce. It is a sad state of affairs. But, it will have to do for now.

*This post has been republished on on the Waffle House’s website, have a look here.*

Click on images to view larger versions.
Discussion

5 thoughts on “A healthy indulgence? Nope, but I can try

  1. Hi Femmegypsy

    Nice post and awesome blog. We run The Wafflehouse website and e mail marketing. Would you like to write an article about your experience at The Waffle house as a guest blogger?

    Posted by Werner | January 28, 2013, 12:15 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Musing Monthly Matters: February 2013 | femmegypsy - February 27, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,084 other followers

Archives

Categories

For my sporadic commentary

  • Love this idea of stashing your spare cash (by rounding up spend to the nearest R10 and investing the rest). stash.co.za 14 hours ago
  • Just as grateful for tea on my couch at home this morning as I was for a café in this beautiful nook of Éze. https://t.co/MESNASYPOg 1 day ago
  • 2036 emails to work through today. 😳 Thank goodness it's going to be a quiet day in the office. 1 day ago
  • Hi @FitKeySA, I've gone to 2x classes (5 & 6am) at different studios that were closed. Pls update. It's too ❄️to get up & ready for nothing. 1 day ago
  • RT @_justcallmekidd: My step dad told me it was pointless to go to orientation, I wasn't going to graduate.....4 years later he in jail & I… 1 week ago
