//
you're reading...
Body, Faith, Holistic Health, Inspiration, Love, Mind, Uncategorized, Yoga

The start of a journey

For those wounded by civilisation, yoga is the most healing salve. – T. Guillemets

Whenever anyone starts a diet or a new exercise plan it is always on a Monday or the beginning of the month – yesterday satisfied both criteria.

I started going to Yoga classes last year once a week after work at the local Virgin Active but since I changed jobs I cannot find classes at gym that suit my schedule and I hate normal gym – there must be an instructor and music or I stuff around. I cancelled my gym contract and started looking around for Yoga classes found that either everything is too expensive or once again doesn’t fit into my schedule.

I recently invested indulged in a Samsung Galaxy Tablet so decided to have a look around the Google Play Store for a Yoga App. I downloaded this free one called “Daily Yoga” and started using it last night and was super impressed.

I took some screen shots after I finished my session to document how easily it works and to illustrate how comprehensive the App actually is.

You tap on “Start Training” and the a page opens up with various Yoga workouts that target different areas of your body and as you can see most of them are free, score!

I completed the Yoga for Body Toning I last night and plan on doing the Daily Yoga for Abs tonight. The plan is to get into the routine of completing a workout every single day, whether it is the casual 20-min training or the moderate 30-min training.

The entire session is first described in great detail and an instructor guides you through which I found beneficial because when I just try to do my own yoga poses I find that I rush through the poses I can remember and do not hold them long enough.

A feature that I really enjoy in this App is that you can go into the “Pose Library” and read detailed instructions on how to properly execute the yoga pose or asana. 

The benefits of each asana is also given which is something that I love knowing.

At the end of your workout you log any thoughts that you had (mine are below in the blue writing under “latest updates”) which is great for tracking your progress and thoughts.

You can also choose different background music to play throughout the workout.

I am definitely far from as flexible or as strong (yes, you have to be strong to do Yoga) as I was last year when I was going to class quite regularly. My entire body was stiff from cycling over the weekend and the boxing class I went to after work. I am excited to go on this Yoga journey and to do it properly this time. I am going to try to incorporate the entire lifestyle over time but plan on doing this slowly so as not to overwhelm myself and give up.

Yoga has a variety of benefits which I will discuss soon too. I have done a bit of research on the topic and have read a few books recently which all culminated in my wanting to practise Yoga seriously and start on this journey. Join me and let me know what you think?

Click on images to view larger versions.
 

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The start of a journey

  1. I’m an avid yoga fan and have been practising Bikram Yoga for the last two months- it’s insane but an amazing way to do yoga. The heat makes you super-flexible and it adds another dimension to your concentration. Its never going to be a great way to lose weight (although you lose tons of water so you have to be constantly drinking afterwards to keep hydrated) its fantastic for toning and strengthening your back and knees and all those things that start giving you problems in your 30s if you haven’t looked after them properly. So keep it up! Yoga is a wonderful practice for your body and your mind 🙂

    Posted by Lisa Golden | October 4, 2012, 8:55 AM
    • I have looked into doing the Bikram yoga too! There is an awesome place in Design Quarter which is actually not too expensive, might get going on that next year 🙂 Where do you do it? Ja, I particularly needed to start doing yoga because I have terrible digestion and tummy problems and it was recommended to me to do yoga and then I have such a weak core and the knees problems too so it should be an all encompassing solution for me! And yes the fact that it calms down my mind a bit is definitely an added advantage! Thank you for your comment!

      Posted by femmegypsy | October 4, 2012, 9:42 AM
  2. I envy flexible people. I suppose everyone starts somewhere sometime.

    Posted by Elvira Nel | October 28, 2012, 8:17 PM

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,085 other subscribers

Archives

Categories